binance hackathon

Cayman Islands-domiciled cryptocurrency exchange Binance has announced the First ever Binance Smart Chain Hackathon for Africa where blockchain enthusiasts stand a chance to win over $30,000 in prizes.

Dubbed “Decentralized Africa” the DeFi & NFT hackathon will be held from June 7th to June 28th, 2021. “The 20-day hackathon will empower blockchain engineers to rapidly build blockchain solutions on the Binance Smart Chain in order to solve real problems identified in the African systems in place today,” Binance said in a statement.

“The hackathon is dedicated to the development of DeFi, NFT projects covering Savings, Lending and Borrowing, Swaps, Royalties and Renting, Elections, Identity Management, Land Ownership, NFTs marketplaces amongst other relevant areas with a total Prize pool of $30,000+ ”

There will be a total prize pool of $30,000+ which will comprise:

  • $10,000 provided by the Binance Smart Chain Investment team
  • $20,000 constituting the “judges pick” category which will be allocated to outstanding projects that will impact the DeFi, NFTs, and “Africa Hero” space
  • An additional fund from partners such as Mobox, Refinable, Bundle, Quidax, Fortube, 1inch
  • Limited exclusive NFTs.

Also Read: Binance NFT Marketplace to Launch in June

All developers, builders, and creators from Africa (hackathon is open to both beginners and non-beginners) can participate in the event.

How to participate in the hackathon: Join the Telegram group here and sign up through the Hackerlink special landing page where all hackathon projects will be submitted.

On June 6, 5 PM WAT, 6 PM SAST, 7 PM EAT, there will be an opening ceremony where the organizers will give in-depth information about the hackathon and answer frequently asked questions from participants. Register for the opening ceremony of the Binance Hackathon HERE.

Techspace Africa

You may also like

More in:Fintech

Leave a Reply