Everybody knows about it, It’s a pretty neat new investment for content creators, it’s X’s ad revenue sharing program, a new way for any creators to earn money from the ads that are displayed on their posts.
There has been a surge in the number of blue checkmarks on Twitter with people investing that $84 annual charge for X premium, a program introduced by Elon Musk which promises to reward creators who meet certain eligibility requirements with a monthly payout, but how much does X pay it’s creators?
First, to get paid you have to consider the requirements, to be eligible for the X ad revenue sharing program, creators must meet the following requirements:
- Be subscribed to X Premium or Verified Organizations.
- Have at least 5M organic impressions on their cumulative posts within the last 3 months.
- Have at least 500 followers.
Ingekuwa wewe ungelipa? pic.twitter.com/JvScJqxJub
— Papa Peli (@NigelJr_) August 31, 2023
How it Works
Once you meet the eligibility requirements, you will receive a monthly payout from the monetization tab in settings. After opting in, creators will receive payouts at a regular cadence, as long as they have generated more than $10 USD.
The amount of money a creator earns from the program will depend on the number of impressions their posts receive and the type of ads that are displayed. In general, creators earn a share of the revenue that advertisers pay to X.
X Ad Revenue Sharing Earnings Potential
This is why you clicked on this article, Say you have met all the requirements and paid for X premium, how much will you be earning? The earnings potential from X’s ad revenue sharing program can vary greatly depending on a number of factors, including the number of impressions a creator’s posts receive, the type of ads that are displayed, and the click-through rate (CTR) of those ads, I think.
However, I do have an actual example and an actual reference point we can go on, according to one Kenyan user on X, with 6.34 million impressions they earned $13.55 in August. This gives you an idea of how much you might expect to earn based on your impressions.
The cost per impression (CPM) is calculated by dividing the total earnings by the number of impressions. In this case, the total earnings are $13.55 and the number of impressions is 6.34 million. So the CPM is:
CPM = $13.55 / 6.34 million impressions = $0.00213722
Now this is just math I have done in my basement, No LTT lab production going on here but in other words, for every 1,000 impressions, the creator earns $0.00213722. This is about KShs.0.31.
However, the payout was from August I8th, so this is about 15 days meaning the CPM might as well double to about Kshs. 0.62 per impressions, CPM data is mostly displayed in ranges anyway, so let’s say the CPM is $0.002 – $0.0069.
If the cost per mille (CPM) is Kshs.1 per 1000 impressions ($0.0069), then you will earn Kshs.5000 for 5 million impressions. This is because, math:
CPM x Number of impressions = Earnings 0.001 x 5000000 = 5000
So, if you get 5 million impressions, you will earn about Kshs.5000, and this is a good example,
Another user, @alexisstyler shares actual accurate data, she had 31.4 million impressions over the 15-day period, that’s from August 15th – September 1st. She earned exactly $83.93.
CPM = $83.93 / 31.4 million impressions = $0.0026729299363057327
This solidifies my average CPM of $0.002 – $0.0069.
Let’s have a look at this other example:
I just received my first @X ads revenue sharing payout today!!
From Jan 31st – Sept 1st I had 27.2 Million impressions total.
$0.00185 per 1,000
Something feels a little off🤔 pic.twitter.com/5ZkKZBudzb
— Alex Cobb (@AlexCobb_) September 1, 2023
From this example, Alex made just $50 from over 20 million impressions, like we said earlier, the CPM is calculated by dividing the total earnings by the number of impressions. In this case, the total earnings are $50.43 and the number of impressions is 27.2 million. So the CPM is:
CPM = $50.43 / 27.2 million impressions = $0.0018540441176470588
In other words, for every 1,000 impressions, this creator earned $0.001854. This is about Kshs. 0.27.
The last example is one Aaron. Now, Aaron made about $108.28 from about 8.12 million impressions, or even less, so the CPM is:
CPM = $108.28 / 8.12 million impressions = $0.013334975369458128
For every 1,000 impressions, this creator earned $0.0133. This is about Kshs. 1.94.
From what I have gathered, people who produce real, valuable content are receiving these decent payouts while people who are engagement baiting (Jesma Twitter) are receiving peanuts. It is important to note that Elon Musk says out of your total impressions, “only views from verified handles count, as scammers will otherwise use bots to spam views to infinity.”
In comparison for about 86,000 reach on Facebook, you get about $184. Facebook also has a detailed analytics dashboard which allows you to track how much money you’re making throughout the month. However, to be eligible for the performance bonus you have to get an invite. Twitter has a lon… X, I mean X has a long ways to go.
Will you be getting X premium? Let me know down in the comments below.